Daily Archives: November 10, 2010

Finally…

….HVAC is DONE. Demolition can now begin.

In the meantime, the guys have been busy doing other things to stay on schedule. I figured it was easier to put it all in one post…it may be long and for that I apologize. So without further ado, here’s the litany of items…

1.) Andy and I now have a “master bath”. This bathroom used to be a jack and jill bath shared by two upstairs bedrooms. We had them close in one of the doors to give a little privacy to us and hopefully comfort to our guests as there is another bath down the hall.

Here is what it looked like before –

Before the doorway was closed

This is mid-project –

Not quite done...

Here is the view from our room – we are going to put shelves in the space.

The other side

And this is what it looks like finished –

Finished

Can’t tell there was ever a door, can you?

2.) The upstairs of the house is almost completely painted. It looks so different now; I mean, it’s amazing the difference. The old paint was just painful – Andy describes it as a mint chocolate chip ice cream color without the chocolate chips. I agonized over the new colors – again, I am a perfectionist. I wanted the color to be perfect but not over decorated. Hopefully, I achieved that. If any of you Richmonders need a painter, Painter Chris is wonderful.

The two large bedrooms are Benjamin Moore Smoke.

Benjamin Moore Smoke

It is more blue on the walls than this.

The two small bedrooms are Benjamin Moore Fernwood Green.

Fernwood Green

The two upstairs bathrooms are Benjamin Moore Waterfall.

Benjamin Moore Waterfall

3.) In preparation for wall demolition, everything has been removed from the kitchen – old cabinets, old everything. Just a glimpse – hopefully I can get some pictures of Jim, the contractor, with a sledgehammer. I’m hoping to get in on the demolition action too. Because of lead-based paint though, I may not be allowed anywhere near it.

Previously, the sink...

On a personal note, if you think about it, pray for Andy this weekend – he’s running the Richmond marathon. He’s been training hard for this and I’m so proud of him. It’s taken a lot of time and commitment and I’ve not been completely un-bratty about it all the time. But I’m glad he’s pushed through.

At the Shamrock Half

It’s blurry because he’s running so fast…